Nepal’s PM Dahal taking the vote of confidence today (Live)

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ is taking the vote of confidence from the House of Representatives today.

[Click here for live]

Dahal is taking the vote of confidence from the House of Representatives, the lower house, for the second time after assuming the prime ministerial berth on 25 December 2022.

The second round of vote of confidence comes after CPN-UML, Nepal’s second largest party in Parliament in February decided to withdraw its support to the Dahal-led government following a renewed political alliance in the run-up to the presidential election.

There is a constitutional provision that the Prime Minister should take the vote of confidence within 30 days after political parties partnering in the government withdrew support. as per the provision, the incumbent Prime Minister has to take the vote of confidence by March 26.

In the first inning, Dahal had secured over 99 percent vote of confidence from the parliament on 11 January 2023. The partners of a new coalition formed of late in the context of Presidential and Vice-Presidential elections have agreed to give a vote of confidence to PM Dahal.

Along with CPN (Maoist Centre), Nepali Congress, Rashtriya Swatantra Party, Janata Samajwadi Party, Unified Socialist, Janamat Party, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, Nagarik Unmukti Party, and Rashtriya Janamorcha among others are expected to support PM Dahal in securing the vote of confidence.

PM Dahal needs 138 votes for securing the trust of the parliament. In the HoR, Maoist Centre has 32 members, Nepali Congress (88), RSP (19), JSP (11), Socialist (10), Janamat Party(6), LSP (4), Nagarik Unmukti (4) and Janamorcha (1).

Likewise, UML has (79), RPP (14), independent (2), Nepal Peasants Workers Party (1), and Aam Janata Party (1) in the HoR.