Upendra Yadav elected from Bara-2 

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) Chair Upendra Yadav has been elected the Member of the House of Representatives (HoR) from Bara-2. 

As per the final vote count results announced last night, Yadav bagged 28, 415 votes and was elected to the lower house of the Federal Parliament. His closest contender Shivachandra Kushwaha of Janamat Party polled 23,334 votes. Similarly, CPN (UML) candidate Purushottam Poudel got 10,216 votes while Ramesh Kharel of Rastriya Swatantra Party collected 2,829 votes, Arun Kumar Gyawali of the Aam Janata Party 2,738 votes, Sonalal Saha of Rastriya Prajatantra Party 119 votes, Kamarullah Ansari of Nagarik Unmukti Party 109 votes and Mukti Yadav of Nepal Workers and Peasants Party 60 votes. 

The HoR seat from Bara constituency 2 had fallen vacant after Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav of JSP, who was elected from this constituency, resigned as he was elected to the post of Vice President, necessitating the by-election. 68,887 voters cast their votes in the by-election held in Bara-2 constituency last Sunday. 

Yadav was defeated by Dr CK Raut, Chair of Janamat Party, in the Saptari electoral constituency number 2 in the election to the Member of House of Representatives held on November 20, 2022. The Chief Returning Officer of Bara handed over the election certificate to the JSP Chair Yadav last night.