Nepal clinches ACC U16 East Zone Cup Cricket  

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Nepal have emerged the champions of ACC U16 East Zone Cup Cricket, trouncing Malaysia by 221 runs in the final match today. 

Nepal defeated Singapore in 2017 and Malaysia in 2019 before this to clinch the title. Batting first after winning the toss at the Bayuemas Oval Cricket Ground in Malaysia, Nepal amassed 252 runs in the allotted 35 overs, losing eight wickets. 

Chasing a target of 253 runs, Malaysia’s parry was limited to 31 runs in 14.5 overs. Muhammad Akram made 10 runs for Malaysia while the rest of the Malaysian batsmen could not make runs in the double digits. 

Nepal’s skipper Abhisek Tiwari claimed five wickets in six overs, conceding seven runs while retaining a maiden. Similarly, Santosh Yadav took three wickets and Sagar Gaire one. Nepal’s Naren Bhatta played a parry of a 100 runs in course of batting before this. He hit unbeaten 112 runs with the help of two sixes and 10 fours off 89 balls while Niraj Yadav collected 47 runs, Suryamshu Koirala 18, Santosh Yadav 26 and Ashok Dhami 11. 

Muhammad Akram took three wickets while Arin Aquil and Muhammad Fadul Muin took one wicket each for Malaysia. Nepal and Malaysia booked their berth in the final by defeating Singapore and Hong Kong respectively in the semi-final matches on Monday. Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Maldives, Indonesia and Thailand along with Nepal participated in the tournament.