Dr Poudel appointed executive director of BP Cancer Hospital

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Dr Shivaji Poudel has been appointed the Executive Director of the Bharatpur-based BP Koirala Memorial Cancer Hospital. A recommendation subcommittee formed by the hospital board of directors has recommended Dr Poudel along with Dr Krishna Sagar Sharma and Dr Pradeep Neupane for the post on Sunday evening. 

The hospital board of directors unanimously decided to pick Dr Poudel as the executive director today, informed member of board of directors, Dr Anil Bikram Karki. 

The hospital board had formed a three-member recommendation committee comprising Dr Madan Upadhyay, Dr Pradeep Gyawali and Dr Dinesh Biswokarma. Dr Upadhyay is a representative from the Ministry of Health and Population while Dr Gyawali is the member-secretary of National Health Research Council and Dr Biswokarma is a member of the board of directors of the hospital. 

Newly-appointed executive director Dr Poudel is the radiation oncologist of the cancer hospital. He is also the vice-chairperson of the Nepal Medical Council. The position of executive director has remained vacant at the hospital after the tenure of executive director Dr Dej Kumar Gautam ended.