Seven individuals, including Commerce Secretary Marasini, charged with corruption

The anti corruption body has concluded that seven individuals are engaged in corruption during the procurement of National Payment Gateway some six years ago. 

Photo: NL Today

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) has filed corruption cases against seven bureaucrats on Monday.

According to Bholanath Dahal, the spokesperson for the Commission, these cases have been initiated for their alleged involvement in embezzling a sum of Rs 232 million.

The CIAA has concluded that six years ago, they were engaged in corruption during the procurement of the National Payment Gateway, and this gateway remains unused to date.

The accused individuals comprise former Executive Director of Nepal Telecom Pranita Upadhyay, Managing Director of Nepal Telecom Sunil Poudel, former Director of Nepal Telecom and current Under Secretary Safal Shrestha, Chief of the Budget and Program Division at the Ministry of Finance Madhu Kumar Marasini, Assistant Director at AITC Ramesh Prasad Pokharel, Chief Account Officer at NITC Neev Bahadur Wali, and Computer Engineer at NITC Ramsharan Gayak.