Nepal wins ODI series against Canada

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Nepal has won the three-match bilateral one-day international (ODI) series against Canada. 

In the second match held at Kirtipur-based Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground on Saturday, Nepal registered its second win by four wickets. 

Winning the toss, Canada had chosen to bat first. Canada posted a target of 286 runs before Nepal. 

Nepal won the match in 45.1 overs losing six wickets. Captain Rohit Kumar Poudel scored the highest 87 runs while Dev Khanal 76 runs and Anil Kumar Saha 50 runs.

Similarly, Bhim Sarki gathered 23 runs, Pawan Sarraf 14 and Ashif Sheikh 10 runs. 

Towards bawling, Canadians Harsh Thaker and Ishwarjot Sohi took two wickets each while Saad Bin Zafar and Dilpreet Bajwa one wicket each.

Earlier, opting to bat first after winning the toss, Canada had gathered 285 runs on the determined 50 overs by losing nine wickets. 

Aaron Johnson of Canada made the highest 65 runs while Navneet  Dhaliwal 46, Shreyas Movva 40 runs, Pargat Singh 38, Nicholas Kirton 20 runs, Uday Bhagwan 20, Dilpreet Bajwa 19 runs and Shahid Ahmadzai 13 runs. 

Towards bawling, Rohit Kumar Paudel and Kushal Malla took two wickets each while Sompal Kami, Surya Tamang, Aakash Chand and Pawan Sarraf one wicket each. 

Nepal had won its first match against Canada by seven runs on Thursday. Nepal had played ODI series with Canada for the first time.