Four districts of Madhes Province to close up border for three days

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Madhesh: Four districts of Madhes Province adjoining India will have their borders closed up for three days from this (Friday) midnight.

The southern borders of Siraha, Dhanusha, Saptari and Mahottari districts linked to Madhuwani district of Bihar State, India will be sealed as Madhuwani district is holding election, according to the concerned district administrations.

The Loksabha election is being held in Madhuwani coming Monday.

Madhuwani district administration of Bihar, India had sent letters to four chief district officers in Nepal, requesting for the closure of border for 72 hours reasoning the election security.

Meanwhile, the cross-border railway (Bhangaha-Janakpurdham-Jaynagar) service will also be halted for the same period, according to Niranjan Jha, General Manager, Railway Company. (RSS)