Dr Devkota elected Nepal Intellectual Council Chairman

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Prof Dr Dinesh Chandra Devkota has been elected the Chair of Nepal Intellectual Council from its 10th National Convention. The Council is close to the CPN-UML.

A 137-member Central Committee has been elected unanimously under Dr Devkota’s chairmanship. He is the former vice-chairman of the National Planning Commission.

Similarly, Bidhan Acharya, Prof Kamananda Dev, Kabita Luitel, Dr Dipendra Bhandari and Radha Adhikari have been elected the vice-chairperson of the committee while Gajendra Thapaliya has been elected the general secretary, and Govinda Bahadur Shahi and Sushil BK the deputy general secretary.

Krishna Kumar Lamsal, Dr Sundar Tiwari, Rishi Khanal, Tika Dhakal, Dr Dipendra Shrestha, Dr Arjun Singh and Yagya Sharma are the secretaries while Gopi Krishna Neupane is the treasurer of the newly-elected central committee.

General secretary Thapaliya said the National Convention held on April 3 and 4 nominated the office-bearers on the three commissions as well. CPN-UML Chair and former Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli had inaugurated the National Convention.