In a bizarre move, Nepal’s Prime Minister appeals to the government he leads to conclude war-time transitional justice issues

The head of the government, himself, appeals to the government to conclude war-time transitional justice issues. Other war-time Maoist leaders second the move.

Photo: Videograb (Journeyman Pictures)

NL Today

  • Read Time 2 min.

Kathmandu: Nepal’s Prime Minister and former guerrilla commander Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda on Tuesday urged the government led by himself to initiate the process to conclude transitional justice issues. 

Issuing a press release, war-time Maoist leaders, including Prachanda himself,  have said that serious attention has been drawn to the recent debate over transitional justice issues. “We firmly believe that all the issues related to the peace process should be addressed according to the spirit and mandate of the Comprehensive Peace Accord,” reads the statement. 

[Related: Nepal’s Maoist does not want Supreme Court to decide the fate of war-time crimes]

Any activities that go against the process of transitional justice process will not help the implementation of the peace process. Thus, transitional justice issues should be handled by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, adds the statement. 

“We strongly demand that the government immediately initiate the legal and institutional initiatives to conclude the remaining tasks of the peace process,” further states the statement signed by the Prime Minister himself. “We are united to fight back against any attempt against the peace agreement and change.”

[Related: PM Prachanda goes berserk: Threatens to bring thousands of Maoist cadres to the streets]

We are also committed that the state should implement agreements at different points in time, reads the statement. 

Following Nepal’s supreme Court order to register a writ petition against Maoist chair Dahal, the war-time Maoist leaders have banded together against the move. 

The statement is signed by Prime Minister Dahal, former Prime Minister and chair of Nepal Samajbadi Party Dr Baburam Bhattarai, politburo member of CPN (Revolutionary Maoist) CP Gajurel, spokesperson of Communist Party of Nepal Khadka Bahadur Biswakarma (Prakanda), coordinator of CPN (Bahumat) Dharmendra Bastola, general secretary of Scientific Socialist Communist Party Nepal Bishwa Bhakta Dulal (Aahuti), chairperson of CPN (Maoist Socialist) Karnajit Budathoki, and central member of Maoist Communist Party Nepal Narayan Prasad Dhimal.