Nepali Congress finalizes candidates for National Assembly polls

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The ruling Nepali Congress (NC) has finalized candidates for the National Assembly elections. A Central Working Committee meeting of the party held on Monday picked the names for six seats as per the agreement in the ruling alliance to allocate seats.

Gopal Basnet will connect the polls from Province 1, Krishna Prasad Poudel from Bagmati, Kamala Pant from Gandaki, Yubaraj Sharma from Lumbini, Durga Kumari Gurung from Karnali and Narayan Dutta Mishra from Sudurpaschim Province.

Earlier today, the coalition parties in the incumbent government reached an agreement to allocate seats for the elections.

As per the agreement, a candidate from a party will file for a post previously occupied by a representative from the same party, according to the agreement.

Of the remaining seats, the NC will get three, the Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal two and the CPN (Maoist Center), the CPN (Unified Socialist) and the Rastriya Janamorcha one each.

The election that will elect 19 NA members is scheduled for January 26 and the deadline for the nomination registration is January 4.